The Medical Device Partnering Program (MDPP) is excited to welcome the newest members of the MDPP team, based in our new Victorian office.

Thanks to support from LaunchVic, the state government agency charged with growing the Victorian startup ecosystem, the MDPP has expanded into Victoria, with the new team based at Hawthorn.

Led by Swinburne University of Technology, the Victorian MDPP partnership brings together CSIRO, The University of Melbourne, Monash University, RMIT University, Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF) and BioMedical Research Victoria. It leverages the proven model and processes developed and implemented by Flinders University across 10 years.

Regional Director of the MDPP in Victoria, Professor Sally McArthur, is thrilled about the announcement of her new team.

“We have attracted some great talent to the team, each member bringing experience and knowledge that will enable us to support and build the medtech sector in Victoria”, says Professor McArthur.

“Victoria already has excellent research expertise and an entrepreneurial clinical community. With the new MDPP team now on board in Victoria, we are equipped to work together with our partners and wider network to connect stakeholders, untap ideas and rapidly progress new product opportunities in the Victorian medtech sector”.

National MDPP Director and Founder, Professor Karen Reynolds, says this significant milestone will allow the MDPP to make even more impact across Australia.

“The MDPP has been operating in South Australia for over 10 years, and over this time, has developed a proven model with outstanding results for the medtech industry. With the addition of the team in Victoria, we now have people ‘on the ground’ to benefit the State and sector in Australia more broadly”, says Professor Reynolds.

The national expansion of the MDPP has been supported by MTPConnect and the Growth Centres Initiative.

The MDPP Victoria team includes:

  • Regional Director, MDPP Victoria: Professor Sally McArthur
  • MDPP Innovations Manager, Victoria: Zoe Kristall
  • MDPP Innovations Officer, Victoria: Brandon Piening
  • MDPP R&D Manager, Victoria: Matt Richardson
  • MDPP Operations Manager, Victoria: Oded VanHam
  • MDPP Administration Officer, Victoria: Jen Leong

The MDPP will officially launch the Victorian node with an event to be held in the coming months.

Learn more about the team here.